• 28
    Jul

    Week of July 28 - August 1, 2014  (1 - 5 Av 5774) 

  • 04
    Aug

    Week of  August 4 - 8, 2014  (8 - 12 Av 5774) 

  • 11
    Aug

    Week of  August 11 - 15, 2014  (15 - 19 Av 5774) 

  • 02
    Aug

    August 2, 2014 ~ 6 Av 5774

  • 03
    Aug

    August 3, 2014 ~ 7 Av 5774

  • 04
    Aug

    Service Times this week at Beth El

Sisterhood

 
sisterhood

 

The Mission of Beth El Sisterhood is to connect, enrich, and empower the women of Beth El. We are committed to educating and supporting our members through innovative programming, social events, and community service. We support each other, the Beth El Community, Israel, the Jewish Theological Seminary, and the values of the conservative movement. We are a link to the past and continue to shape the future of Beth El and Conservative Judaism.

Some of our exciting programs and events include: bingo, yoga, dine and study, Sisterhood Shabbat, the Event Extravaganza, and so much more.

Sisterhood wants to make sure that if you want to attend a meeting or event, you can. So if you need a ride or just want a buddy, please call Jodie Richmond at (609) 922-0756 or Jennifer Sholder at (609) 313-1808. We will do our best to get you there.

A Message from the President

The Sisterhood Board is working very hard to plan some fun and exciting programs for the women of Beth El.  Hopefully, many of you already participated in some of our events this year.  October was rather busy for us, and I want to personally thank everyone who came out and supported Sisterhood.  I especially want to thank Renee Kessler for helping with our opening event at A Taste of Olive.  Not only did we learn about how olive oils and vinegars are made, but what makes them Kosher, too.  Next I want to thank Laurie Kolmins and Michele Miron, our Social Action Chair-people, for helping to coordinate Beth El’s participation in the Community Mitzvah Day on October 6th, as well as the many people who volunteered that day.  Hopefully, you and your families learned, firsthand, the power of community in helping to make the world a better place.  Next I want to thank Hazzan Alisa Pomerantz Boro for spending the day with us in New York City and for helping to make our New York trip so educational, entertaining, and fun!  And also to Debbie Drachman and Ilene Rubin for helping to plan our trip to New York.  Lastly, I want to thank our Torah Fund Chair-people, Debbie Drachman and Renee Rudolph, as well as Ann Miller and the rest of their committee, for putting together a beautiful Torah Fund brunch with TBS.  And of course, to the spouses of our clergy, Stephen Boro, Tammy Arnow and Helene Krupnick for sharing their stories and sharing their spouses with us.

On Monday November 11th, Sisterhood will be going to the JCC’s Festival of Arts Books and Culture for Ladies’ Night to hear two fabulous authors, Laurie Rubin at 6:30 pm followed by Lynn Povich at 8:00 pm.  Laurie’s book, “Do You Dream in Color:  Insights From a Girl Without Sight” will touch your heart and Lynn’s book “The Good Girls Revolt:  How the Women of Newsweek Sued their Bosses and Changed the Workplace” will educate you about civil rights.  Cocktail reception between the two authors included.  Cost:  $18 if we get a group together (regularly $20).  RSVP to Sharon Mindel at

Mark your calendars for Tuesday December 3rd for Sisterhood’s Paid Up Membership Dinner.  This is open to all women who have paid their Membership dues for 2013-2014.  This year’s dinner will feature Life Coach, Sheri Desaretz who will present “Women’s Ten Most Wanted” -a smorgasbord workshop of ten topics of keen interest to women, including self-esteem, getting out of your comfort zone, self-sabotage, work/life balance, time management, perfectionism, choices, change, learning to say “No”, and more.  And best of all, it is FREE if you’ve paid your dues.  But reservations are required so we know how many people to expect.   RSVP to Leah Wolf at (215) 915-1330 or jasonleah@aol.com.

Lastly, as part of Beth El’s Scholar in Residence weekend, Sisterhood will be co-sponsoring the Sunday brunch on December 8th with Dr. Judith Hauptman who will be speaking about The Evolution and Future of Women in Judaism.  More details about this to follow.

In closing I’d like to wish everyone a very happy Thanksgivukkah, as we witness the only time in our lifetimes that the first day of Hanukkah will coincide with Thanksgiving.  In fact, scientists and mathematicians have calculated that this will not happen again for over 75,000 years.  However, those a tad younger than me (unless I live to 103), may see Thanksgiving Day coincide with the first night of Hanukkah in the year 2070.  Let us embrace this double celebration of Judaism and America as we realize how lucky we all are to live in a country in which we are free to practice whatever religion we choose.

With warm holiday wishes from my family to yours,

Faye Shapiro,

President

Upcoming Events 2014

Wednesday April 9 - Dine and Study with Rabbi Krupnick

Thursday May 22 – 7 PM Game/Mahjong Night

Thursday June 12 - Closing Event/Installation of Officers

*Dates and Times subject to change.  Check Beth El Buzz for most up-to-date information

2013-2014 Board Members

President Faye Shapiro faye.shapiro@comcast.net
VP Programming Robin Schwartz robinmtlaurel@gmail.com
VP Membership Leah Wolf jasonleah@aol.com
VP Fundraising Sharon Mindel samindel@yahoo.com
VP Torah Fund Debbie Drachman  debdrachman@comcast.net
  Renee Rudolph reneer@datasoft-assoc.com
VP Education Jocelyn Borowsky jdmborowsky@comcast.net
  Nancy Lubars nlubars@centerffs.org
Treasurer Cathy Backal cbackal@comcast.net
Recording Secretary Wende Bralow wbralow@gmail.com
Financial Secretary Linda Harowitz lharowitz@comcast.net
Communications Amy Breslow amybreslow@verizon.net
Social Action Laurie Kolmins lkolmins@yahoo.com
  Michelle Miron mmiron@bayada.com
Chesed Cooking Renee Kessler rbkess@comcast.net
Young/New Member Debra Kelberg dkelberg@aol.com
Giftshop Linda Lazarow llazarow@msn.com
Members At Large Ann Miller alm4sp@aol.com
  Sharon Sackstein njsharona@aol.com
  Juli Sloves jmsloves@comcast.net
Advisor Margie Blum mblum@bethelsnj.org
Past President Leslie Breslau lezbrez@verizon.net